About My Absence: A Quick Life Update

that-djenty-fool-metallicaYou may have noticed this past fortnight or so that I’ve not posted anything on That Djenty Fool (and for that I apologize). This has been the longest period of time between posts since I started this blog back in April this year, and I feel that- regardless if you care or not- I needed to address the reasons why as well as certain changes in the future.

If you’ve ever read through The Versatile Blogger Award post I made back in August you’ll know that I’m a full-time student currently studying Architecture. I’m coming towards the end of my first semester as a second year undergraduate, and whilst I’m enjoying my work and experiences so far its become apparent to me that this course requires plenty of time, effort and exertions. Ultimately this is what I have wanted to do for a long time, and I’d rather focus the majority of my time and energy on my education- unfortunately this will come at the expense of That Djenty Fool.

Other circumstances have also kept me away from the blog, namely my mental health. I won’t go into any detail (as the matter is wholly personal) but what I will say is that I’ve been struggling to muster any enthusiasm for listening to music or writing blog posts. When I started this blog I wanted to create articles for discussion that I hoped people will engage in. Whilst I feel that such an ambition has failed (over 6 months, 60 posts and a handful of comments doesn’t seem like much of a discussion), through it all I’ve found that what I took from writing each post was an enjoyment of writing about something that I hold dear- music. I don’t want to lose that enjoyment, but at the same time I don’t want what is essentially a hobby to become a burden.

In order for me to continue to love writing on this blog I feel that I need a bit more freedom and less pressure. For the last few months I’ve been trying to write about two posts a week, but as I’ve become more involved in my studies I feel that such a target is unrealistic and that I’d rather post when I have the time to. It’s also been difficult trying to maintain a particular standard of writing in which I try to write as much as I can with as much detail as I can manage. I don’t want to create an unassailable workload for myself when I have no one to please, except myself. If you haven’t already guessed by now, you’ll realise that from now on I’ll be posting less frequently and with shorter blog posts- however, that will most likely change when I leave university for the summer break around May.

As always I’m very grateful for any support or interest that anyone has put into this blog, and I feel this is a step that I needed to take as I don’t want to quit or go on a hiatus. Hopefully it’s for the better.

Stay Metal

That Djenty Fool

One thought on “About My Absence: A Quick Life Update

Leave a Reply

